Thailand to double visa-on-arrival fee for China, India and Taiwan tourists

The hike was aimed at ‘reducing long queues’ at immigration checkpoints. Pic: Wasin Waeosri/flickr

THAILAND’S immigration authorities will begin imposing new charges for visas on arrival beginning next month, raising the current fee from 1,000 baht (US$28) to 2,000 baht (US$57), local media reported.

The new fee, which is expected to take effect starting September 27, would be imposed on foreign tourists from 18 countries and one economic zone.

According to Bangkok Post, the announcement was made by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ Department of Consular affairs yesterday.

The list of countries that are affected by the new charges are Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

SEE ALSO: Bangkok is most preferred holiday destination for Indians 

The VoA will allow the foreigners from the said countries to stay in the country up to 15 days.

The new charges came following the cabinet’s approval on the increase in visa fee that was made in January. The hike, the daily reported, was aimed at “reducing long queues” at immigration checkpoints.

According to Thai PBS, the 42 designated immigration checkpoints include Suvarnabhumi Airport, Don Mueang International Airport, Chiang Mai International Airport, Phuket International Airport, and Hat Yai International Airport.

SEE ALSO: Tourism in Thailand expected to bounce back after spate of bombings

This story first appeared on Asian Correspondent