Indonesia’s biggest cycling event is making a comeback in 2018


After a seven-year hiatus, the Tour of Indonesia cycling event is returning to the Southeast Asian Island. Source: Paolo Candelo/Unsplash

THE tour of Indonesia cycling event is pedaling back into the spotlight after a seven-year hiatus.

The cycling event began in 2004 in the region of Java and invited professional cyclists from around the globe to join in the road race. The event stopped for the first time in 2007 due to lack of funding and in 2010 the race was halted for seven years.

However, from January 25, tourists, residents and cycling enthusiasts can expect to see 17 teams speeding through the Indonesian streets. The cycling tour route will cover 10 regencies across three of Indonesia’s provinces: Central Java, East Java and Bali.

A post shared by Tag Pariwisata (@tagpariwisata) on

The race is expected to start at the Borobudur Temple in Magelang, Central Java, then work its way down to the tip of Indonesia’s main island, through East Java down to the southern tip of the island and then across to Bali, covering a total distance of 755 kilometers.

Raja Sapta Oktohari, who is the head of the Indonesian Cycling Federation, told that Tour of Indonesia has been listed in the 2.1 categories in the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) calendar, which deems the event as a stage race that can include national teams, UCI registered continental and professional continental teams.

“The Tour of Indonesia 2018 will be [a way to] show and promote Indonesian tourism effectively,” Raja said. “It’s because each étape (stage) will be designed in such a way as to pass through tourist attractions.”

Visitors wanting to catch the cyclists pedaling away can see the competition at various different locations throughout the race. Contestants will be passing through Taman Safari Prigen, which is home to Prigen Zoo, so spectators can make a day of it in the area after the cyclists have whizzed past.

A post shared by Mitha (@diantjantiex713) on

Once they arrive in Bali, the racers will pass along Lake Beratan in Tabanan regency, which is home to the iconic Shaivite water temple, before finishing in Denpasar on January 28.

Previous winners of the race include New Zealand’s Nathan Dahlberg, Indonesia’s Herwin Ja and Iran’s Mehdi Sohrabi.